Steamboat Springs, Colorado

Short-term rental regulations and laws

Town of Steamboat Springs Stats

Town of steamboat Springs Airbnb Data

City Population: 13,000

Metro Population: n/a

Tourist Visitors: 500,000 all of Routt County (Steamboat Chamber)

Average House Price: $579,700 (Zillow)

Average Rental Rates: $1,000 per room per month

Number of Homes: 5,201 (suburbanstats.org)

Number of active Airbnb listings

Average occupancy: 20%

Average nightly rental rate: $326

Average annual rental income: $25,000

Number of active listings: 2,523

Source: Airdna.com

Does the City of Steamboat Springs allow Airbnb and VRBO short-term rentals?

The City of Steamboat Springs does not at this time (January 6, 2019) have specific regulations to address the short-term rental of single-family homes. In the absence of specific regulations to address short-term rentals (less than 30 days per stay), the zoning regulations apply and this would limit short-term rentals to commercial zones. However, Steamboat Springs does allow short-term vacation home rentals through a permitting system. See the following section for more information on short-term rental permits. 

For properties located outside of the Steamboat Springs city limits, the rules of Routt County apply. In Routt County, short-term rentals are only permitted in areas zoned for commercial use. The following wording is from the Routt County website:

Short-term rentals sometimes referred to as nightly rentals or vacation home rentals, are defined as the rental of a dwelling unit for a term or time period of less than one month. Renting a dwelling on a short-term basis is an activity currently prohibited in unincorporated Routt County except in areas zoned Commercial or where a permit has been issued for a use such as a bed and breakfast or guest ranch.

Does the City of Steamboat Springs require a license to rent property on a short-term basis?

Yes. Property owners must acquire a Vacation Home Rental Permit prior to listing the property for rent. The permit number must be included in the property listing. Permits can be obtained from the City of Steamboat Springs.

You can download a copy of the license application here: City of Steamboat Springs Vacation Home Rental Permit. 

How much does a short-term rental license cost?

The Vacation Rental Permit costs an initial $500 with annual renewals at $75. The City of Steamboat Springs also charges $75 for a parking inspection. 

What are the maximum number of days a property can be rented on a short-term basis per year?

There is no maximum specified. 

Can I rent both my primary property and ADU on short-term basis?

No. Steamboat Springs does not allow for the short-term rental of ADU (or secondary units as they are called in Steamboat Springs).

Can tenants rent rooms on Airbnb or other short-term platforms?

Possibly in areas zoned asa commercial but since there doesn’t appear to be any enforcement of zoning rules, it appears that this might be possible as long as the landlord/property owner allows it. 

Can I rent my property short-term part of the year and then long-term the rest?

Yes

Do I have to pay taxes on my rental income?

Yes. 2.9% State of Colorado, 1.0% Routt County and, if applicable, 2.0% Local Marketing District tax is remitted to the State. 4.5% City of Steamboat Springs sales tax and 1.0% Accommodations tax is collected on all taxable transactions and is remitted to the City of Steamboat Springs. In addition to occupancy taxes, property owners are also required to pay sales tax. Airbnb collects and remits all taxes on behalf of owners. 

What is the maximum number of guests that can rent a property short-term?

The number of occupants staying at a vacation home rental in Steamboat Springs shall not exceed one per 200 square feet net floor area or 16 occupants, whichever is more restrictive.

Who do I contact for more information on Steamboat Springs Short-term Rental licensing?

City of Steamboat Springs Department of Planning and Community Development

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 775088, Steamboat Springs, CO 80477

 

Physical Address

137 10th Street, Steamboat Springs, CO 80477

 

Contact

Phone: 970-871-8258

 

What are the penalties for non-compliance with Steamboat Springs's short-term ordinance?

Non-compliance will result in the loss of the Vacation Rental Permit.

what are the opportunities for investors of airbnb properties in Steamboat Springs?

TBD

Steamboat Springs, Colorado Airbnb short-term rental news

Routt County, Colorado Reaffirms Short-term Rental Ban

Routt County, Colorado reaffirmed its ban on short-term rentals which impacts property owners near Steamboat Springs, Clark, Oak Creek, and other popular vacation spots. Areas such as the Tree Haus neighborhood on the western side of Steamboat Springs are outside of...

read more

Short-term regulations of Colorado’s largest cities

Short-term regulations of Colorado’s top vacation towns